Okay, an update | Bomby's Website!

Some buttons showing what I'm into!
The buttons made by other people are linked to their pages, while stamps I made myself will link to this site (or to an interest's page) if you click on them.
Feel free to use my buttons!

Okay, an update

So the last post was super short since I wrote it at midnight, but finally have a slither of time to do a more detailed update…

I think two blog-posts ago, I talked about doing exchange in Japan. Well, I’ve been here for a little over three months now! I’m way out in the more countryside area of Japan though. (Legit can see rice paddies on the way to the grocers).

I like that though. I like that it’s more quiet and peaceful, and slower pace. I like that I don’t have to worry about living expenses since cost of living is a lot lower than big cities like Tokyo (and definitely a lot cheaper than back home in Sydney)…

I like living by myself and having the freedom to cook the foods I want to eat. And also the freedom to decorate my own place and enjoy it for myself. :)

But I know that when I’m back next year, it’ll be years (potentially) before I can have a similar lifestyle. Or maybe I just won’t be able to have that at all, and end up moving in with my partner instead of living by myself first for a few years.

Rent is so cheap here at around $320 per MONTH! Back home, I won’t even be able to afford a week of rent in a 1 bedroom apartment if I wanted to have money leftover for savings.

But as much as I love living here, and having the convenience of convenience stores in Japan, the clean and spotless streets/roads, the much-quieter surroundings, I miss my friends and family a lot. I also miss how diverse and multicultural Sydney is. I miss the food so much! (There’s only so much variation in Japanese cuisine near where I am).

But I’m really grateful to be given the opportunity to be here, and for being able to be in a position where I don’t have to worry about budgeting too much since I have a source of income.

It feels tough thinking about going back home to study another year; and then having to save for ages before being able to have a place I can call my own home. Renting is an option, but it feels so insecure with changing rental prices and the possibilty of having to move multiple times.

I’m grateful that I’m able to stay at my parents’ place though, but I guess at my age I just want a bit of independence and freedom.

Comments are loading!
: